Department News


HOD: Sajesh Sasidharan

Assistant professor 6
Duration UG 3 Year, PG 2 Year
Students UG 126, PG 30
Certificate Yes
Assessments Yes



The inception of Sree Narayana College, Sivagiri, was as a Junior College with Pre-Degree Courses in Arts and Science subjects, in the year 1964. It was then with the intention of imparting higher education to the people belonging to the lower strata that the Sree Narayana Trusts in a meeting convened on the 24th of July 1967, decided to introduce Degree Courses in the junior colleges run by the Trusts. With this mission Degree Courses were introduced in Sree Narayana College, Sivagiri, Varkala along with several other Colleges run by the Trusts throughout the state. In the Sree Narayana College, Sivagiri, Varkala degree courses in several disciplines such as Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Zoology, Botany, Economics and Malayalam were started in the year 1967.

The Physics Department of Sree Narayana College, Sivagiri was formulated in the year 1967 when the B.Sc Degree course in Physics was first introduced in this College after the inception of this institution as a Junior College took place in 1964. Prof.K.A.Kumaran was the Head of the Department of Physics with several eminent faculty members among which are Prof.K.Sathyavathy, Prof.K.Santhadevi, Prof.N.N.Kartha and Prof.A.H.Remany.

In the year 1968 Prof. S.Muraleedharan who served as the Head of the Department of this College during the period 1996-1999 and Dr.B.Jayachandran who was serving as the joined the Department. In 1968, Prof. N.Sugathan who retired from S.N. College Kollam after serving as the Head of the Department there also joined this College.

Prof. K.A.Kumaran has put in a service as the Head of the Department for a period of about 17 years till being transferred to S.N. College, Kollam in 1981. Among other personalities who have rendered their valuable service to this Department as the Heads of the Department during various periods are:

Succession List of HODs

1. Prof. K.A. Kumaran from 1967 to 1981
2. Prof. T.K. Bhanumathy from 1981 to 1986
3. Prof. V.Maheendran from 1986 to 1988 and again from 1993 to 1996.
4. Prof. C.C.Kunjachachan from 1988 to 1989 and again from 1990 to 1993
5. Prof. Mary Elizabeth from 1989 to 1990
6. Prof. S.Muraleedharan Nair from 1996 to 1998 followed by
7. Dr.B.Jayachandran from 1998 to 2005
8. Sri. Vijayababu from 2005 to 2010
9. Smt. T.P Shaila from 2010 to 2011
10. Smt. G. Lilly Bai from 2011 to 2012
11. Smt. T.P Shaila from 2012 to 2013
12. Sri. S. Shibu from 2013 to 2014
13. Smt. Resmi S from 2014 to 2015
14. Smt. Susy K from 2015-2017
15. Dr.Aranya Swho still continues as the Head of the Department.

Among other eminent faculty members who served the Department during various period and retired from service till 2001 are
Name of teacher Duration
Prof. G.Saratchandran Nair
Prof. P.N.Muraleedharan
Prof. C.John
Prof. K.KJose
Prof. Chandrasekhara Menon
Prof. M.Rajan
Prof. SahirdayanThampi former Principal of S.N. College Chempazhanthy
Prof. Gopalakrishnan former Principal T.K.M.M College Nangiarkulangara
Prof. Narayana Kaimal
Prof. Antony Paul
Prof. Sanal Kumar
Prof. Annie M Leela
Prof. P. Saraswathy
Prof. S.Leela
Prof. G. Omanakuttan
Dr. K. Mohan Sreekumar ,
Prof. K.Sugatha
Prof. Radhakrishnan
Prof. G.KamalaKumary
Prof. M. KumariRetnam
Prof. K.Meenakshy
Prof. C.S.Ajikumar
Dr.KKochu Narayanan
Prof. T.P.Shaila
Prof. K.S.Valsaraj
Smt. Susy K
Dr.Beena D
Dr Aranya S – Head of the DepartmentPresent
Sri SajeshSasidharan – an alumini of this institution Present
SmtVeenas C L – an alumni of this institutionPresent
Sri. Ramesh Chandran B RPresent
Sri. Jyothish B– an alumni of this institutionPresent
Smt Parvathi S BabuPresent
Smt. AiswaryaMol N SPresent